Anzac Albany Heritage Sites

Download the Anzac Albany Heritage Sites Map here: 

Albany War Memorial

Corner York Street & Peels Place

In 1919, Albany Mayor W.J. Day proposed to erect a memorial to the fallen soldiers of the district. The cenotaph of local granite quarried from Mount Melville was built by A.J. Hartman. The monument is 7 metres high including the obelisk of more than 3.5 metre.

The Albany War Memorial was unveiled by the Governer, Sir Francis Newdegate in 1921. 

St John's Anglican Church

147 York Street

St John's Anglican Church was consecrated in 1848. The tradition of the first Dawn Service began at the Church when Reverand Arthur White led parishioners to the summit of Mount Clarence on Anzac Day 1930. 

Nurses Rose Garden

Proudlove Parade

The RSL Memorial Gardens opened in March 1937, recognising the sisterhood of all women and nurses who served in the Great War.The area, planted next to the Soldier’s Institute, a building formerly the Lands Office, transformed the railways owned wasteland and disused tennis court.

Anzac Peace Park

Princess Royal Drive

The park is designed as a landscape of peace. It is an iconic location connecting city and harbour, endowed with multiple symbolic associations. A number of the ANZAC stories have been integrated into seats located through the park. The intention is to slow the pace of visitors, provide rest points and allow time to reflect and investigate the stories as they move through the park. The seats are set into a widened section of the path to create a comfortable ‘place’. Local granite, timber and cast concrete panels using the local crushed granite assist in making the interpretation local, a place that inherently belongs to Albany.

 

Lone Pine Grove

Princess Royal Drive

According to research, two Australian soldiers souvenired pine cones back to Australia from the Lone Pine Ridge in 1915. From one, taken back to Inverell in NSW, two seedlings were propagated. In 1934 the Duke of Gloucester planted one at the Australian War Memorial in Canberra, and today it stands over 20m in height. 
The Lone Pine Grove in Albany provides a major focus for the theme of Peace within Anzac Peace Park. It expresses a direct and living connection between ‘Gallipoli and Albany” and the idea of peace across time, place and people. 
The Lone Pine Grove (Aleppo pines, Pinus halepensis) is contained by a curved granite wall with a long integrated timber seat. Both the granite and timber are local to Albany.

Pier of Remembrance

Princess Royal Drive

The pier is a slender stretch of boardwalk, which gently curves into Princess Royal Harbour and offers visitors an opportunity to move beyond the edge of the bay that bounds the park, and over the water. It provides a site for respite and reflection of those lost in the war and will also enable visitors as they walk out along the pier to enact in a physical and symbolic way the process of ‘leaving’ much as was done by the troops departing for war in 1914. The names of the ships comprising the first and second convoys are inscribed along the pier.

The Rocks

182 Grey Street West

The building known as The Rocks was constructed by the Knight family in the early 1880s. It was sold to the state government in 1913 to become the vice regal summer residence.In 1915, the governor offered it as a hospital for convalescing servicemen, becoming No. 8 Australian General Hospital for a period.

Albany Memorial Park Cemetery

Middleton Road

One of the first cemeteries to be consecrated in the state, early burials took place on the lower section of the Middleton Road site.  The reinterment in 1840 of colonial surgeon Dr Alexander Collie, was amongst the earliest gravesites to be established there.

Albany Senior High School - WW2 Rose Garden

Campbell Road

Original Avenue of Honour 

Middleton Road

The Albany Avenue of honour was originally planted in Middleton Road in 1921 to honour those from World War One. At the time of the planting Mrs A. M Bird penned a poem in commemoration of the planting. The last verse of the poem: 
May every leaf on each green tree,
As changing seasons come and go,
Whisper our pride and sympathy
To name plates on their boles below,
And murmur one unending song,
In praise of those who marched along
Our Avenue of Honour

Published in the Albany Advertiser, Saturday 23 July 1921.


The trees, Albany red flowering gum (Corymbia ficifolia,) started dying soon after being planted. Many were replaced over the years but in the mid 1940’s several trees died with plaques having been removed or lost.
Discussions were held about the relocation of the Avenue of Honour in the late 1940’s to Mount Clarence and in 1955 the Apex Club and RSL carried out the necessary work to complete the Apex Drive and the new avenue.
Today there is a plaque commemorating the position of the last tree which was removed in 2017.

Dog Rock Boulevard Shopping Centre Mural

St Werburghs Lane

The Mural is a dedication to all those Men and Women who have served in the Australian Armed Forces in all theatres of war and peacekeeping operations. And all future Service Men and Women who will continue to protect what our War Veterans fought and died to defeat.

Desert Mounted Corps Memorial

Mount Clarence

The Desert Mounted Corps Memorial commemorates Australian and New Zealand soldiers who died in service or were killed in action in Egypt, Palestine and Syria during World War I. Following the First World War, soldiers from Australia and New Zealand contributed one day’s pay to commission a monument to the fallen. The statue, featuring two mounted soldiers, was toppled in 1956 during the Suez Crisis. After much lobbying its remnants were returned to Australia. The new Desert Mounted Corps Memorial was unveiled in 1964 and now stands proudly on the summit of Mount Clarence.

Padre White Lookout

Mount Clarence

Padre Arthur Ernest White is a revered character in Albany’s history. It is recorded in the St John’s Anglican Church service register that at 6am on April 25 1930, Padre White celebrated a dawn Eucharist commemorating Anzac Day. After wreaths were laid at the nearby war memorial, Padre White led some of his congregation up a bush track to the top of Mount Clarence where an observation took place of a boatman laying a wreath in King George Sound. Today the Padre White Lookout is the region’s most visited lookout and serves as an enduring place of reflection; a lasting monument to Ernest White and what many regard as Australia’s first Dawn Service.

Avenue of Honour

Mout Clarence

An immersive art installation by Bruce Munro, Field of Light: Avenue of Honour pays homage to the Anzacs with 16,000 shining spheres at Mount Clarence marking the last sight of home for 41,000 troops who departed from Albany for the Great War. The internationally renowned UK artist’s ephemeral landscape installation references the national flowers of Australia and New Zealand; honouring 100 years since the First World War’s end and celebrating Albany’s unique biodiversity with thousands of lights shining in the whites, yellows and golds of the wattle and the kowhai.

National Anzac Centre

Forts Road, Mount Adelaide

The National Anzac Centre is the centrepiece attraction of Albany Heritage Park. Opened on 1 November 2014, the Centre is Australia’s foremost award winning facility dedicated solely to honouring the Anzacs of the First World War. Visitors are offered a deeply personal connection to the Anzacs through interactive multi-media displays, unique artefacts, rare images and film, and audio commentary.

Princess Royal Fortress

Forts Road, Mount Adelaide

Ataturk Statue

Ellen Cove Boardwalk 

In a reciprocal agreement in 1985 the channel leading into Princess Royal Harbour was officially named Ataturk Channel, whilst the Turkish Government named the beach at Gallipoli where the Anzacs landed Anzac Cove. In 2002 a statue of Mustafa Kamal Ataturk was erected overlooking the channel bearing his name.

 

Download the Anzac Albany Heritage Sites Map here: